Not WW: Making the Right Decision

It’s been a while since I’ve written; I’m sorry about that. The simplest answer is I haven’t been able to put into words what I need to write about…

Beatrix

Two Sundays ago Beatrix and Dio got into a fight in the backyard. Since Bea has 40 lbs on Dio, he suffered the brunt of the injuries. They include 12 puncture wounds, some stitches, bruising, and a bite that went into his front right carpus joint (the equivalent to our wrists). Both the ER vet and my regular vet were concerned the joint may get infected, but thankfully we’ve passed the time frame of an infection setting in!

Bandaged leg, antibiotics, and e-collar woes aside, Dio is doing fine. However, the incident has led to a decision about Beatrix and her suitability in our home.

The day after the fight I contacted a behaviorist in the Denver metro area to seek help. In tears. This was the fifth fight between Dio and Beatrix in a year, and the severity of the wounds were increasing. Isaac and I wanted to see what the behaviorists opinion was, and how to proceed to make life comfortable and happy and stress-free for the dogs. After a consultation, the behaviorist gave her honest thoughts. To quote her exactly (I’ll never forget these words, because they broke my heart), “my prognosis for this situation is extremely guarded”. Sure, there was a glimmer of hope (isn’t there always?) but the glimmer isn’t worth continued fighting or Dio’s life.

With a heavy heart we made the decision to rehome Beatrix. Thankfully, Bea is a wonderfully behaved dog, fighting aside, and the behaviorist was confident she would thrive in a home as an only dog. Beatrix issue seems to lie only with Dio, and she’s happy at pet friendly stores, meeting dogs on walks, crowds of people with dogs, and so on. But ensuring she finds a home as an only dog will be the best for everyone.

At first I was devastated. (Let’s not lie – I AM devastated.) As the days passed and friends gave their support and thoughts and experiences with similar situations I felt better. One friend’s experience with her dogs living with a dog that had started fights, and how stressed they were, really shed light on my own dogs. None of my dogs should have to live in a stressful environment, and none should get attacked and hurt by another member of their doggy family.

Several rescue groups have been contacted, as well as Colorado’s All Breed Rescue Network, in which I have a contact from working at the vet hospital. Isaac and I have spread the word among our friends and family, hoping we’ll find that perfect home for Beatrix. She will stay with us until a new home is found, as a brief “crate and rotate” routine is acceptable in this instance. There are no shelters, no-kill or otherwise, in her future! In the meantime, I’ve been taking the time to enjoy all of our interactions with Bea while I still can.

Beatrix

Obviously this wasn’t a decision we easily came upon. There was always the hope in the back of my brain that things would work out. That Dio and Beatrix would become the best of friends, after all they spent a year without fighting! Having a behaviorist give their educated analysis of our situation was the best thing we could have done – for the dogs and us. I am dreading, and simultaneously looking forward to, the day Bea finds her new home. It’s painful to think of our last goodbye’s. However, there is some happiness, too, knowing she will have a chance to be happy and successful. Of course, knowing Dio and Coal will also be given the chance to live in a stress-free household once again warms my heart.

What’s the hardest thing you’ve had to do for your pet, knowing it’s the right decision?

This is a wordless Wednesday BLOG HOP through Blogpaws.com! (Except today there are lots of words!)

Click here to enter your link and view this Blogpaws.com list…

About Miranda

A flailing attempt at keeping it all together while doing All The Things.
Aside | This entry was posted in +R, Animals, Beatrix, Dio, Dog Behavior, Dogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not WW: Making the Right Decision

  1. She is such a beautiful girl, and I know you will find a perfect home for her. As for the hardest thing I’ve had to do for a pet…that would be having to put Lasya and Freya down last summer. It is the heaviest of responsibilities that we take on when we make the lifetime contract with dogs, to be custodians of their lives and release them from suffering. These are the hard parts.

    • Miranda says:

      Thank you. And thank you for being supportive through this ordeal. I never thought I’d EVER be rehoming a dog. Oh man…

      I can only imagine what a hard thing it was to put Lasya and Freya down. Especially so close together! I haven’t had to experience that quite yet, at least not as an adult.

  2. I completely understand your situation, and I’m sorry that you have to give up one of your dogs. We had two dogs that didn’t get along and did a crate and rotate for several months. I knew it wasn’t fair to either dog to have to live in a stressful environment, but I was too selfish to give either of them up. We would have kept doing that forever, except one of the dogs passed away suddenly. I believe things happen for a reason. You’re doing the best you can for your dogs, and that’s the best any of us can do. Best wishes to all of you.

    • Miranda says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words! It is nice to know others have been here, regardless of what they chose to do. I am sorry your dog passed away suddenly – that’s awful. One of the hardest feelings to overcome is failure; of not being able to give Bea her forever home, and also failing to give Dio a safe one.

  3. Chelsey says:

    It sucks that you’ve had to go through all of this. The right decisions always seem to be the hardest. But I know you’ll find an owner who will take care of Bea and give her a happy home!

  4. gvannini says:

    Thank you for making the right decision for your dogs and for being so honest about it. One of our dogs is a rehome, and his situation was not even as drastic – his family had not expected the type of dog he grew into (got him as a puppy thinking he was a different breed) and had young children and no other dogs and he was a total terror in their house. I did agility with him for his old family for months before they asked if we wanted to take him – living in a house with multiple dogs as well as constant activity has made him quite frankly the easiest dog in the world. It is amazing how different dogs can be in the right environment.

    I also will say – I know someone who had two dogs that they knew would fight if they ended up together, and they crated and rotated, even locking them in separate rooms. One day they came home to multiple broken doors, broken crates and both dogs dead. I have heard too many stories like that to EVER have two dogs together in my house that want to seriously harm each other.

    Wishing luck to you in finding the perfect home for Beatrix.

    • Miranda says:

      Thank you for sharing about your dog, and the two unfortunate dogs. These are the types stories that let me know we’re making the right decision, as awful as it is.

      Thank you for the luck. My fingers are crossed that we will find the right home, and quickly so we can avoid any further issues for her.

  5. I am so sorry you’ve been going through all this. I know how hard it must be for everyone in your family.

    My first two dogs, Agatha and Christie, fought their entire lives. Because they were litter mates of the same size, they didn’t suffer serious injuries. But they (and we) were under continual stress.

    At the time, I thought I was doing the right thing by keeping both dogs. But when Christie passed at fourteen and I saw how Agatha instantly relaxed as an only dog, I was sorry that I didn’t find a new home for Christie (the less neurotic of the pair).

    I’m glad that you’re putting the safety and comfort of Beatrix and Dio first. And I know it’s a very hard choice.

    I hope you find a wonderful home for Beatrix soon.

    • Miranda says:

      I’m sorry for the delayed response! (I swore I replied last week!)

      Thank you for sharing this with me. It is a hard choice, and the feelings of failure and doing what’s best have been battling each other. With each day that passes, I am more confident in my decision, regardless of my breaking heart.

Leave a Reply

